Fiction Books:

Quicksand

Format

Paperback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Quicksand by Steve Toltz
40% off
$25.99 was $43.99
or 4 payments of $6.50 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 2-3 weeks

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 14-20 August using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • Around 15-22 August using standard courier delivery

Description

This fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends is "a delightful literary novel...extraordinarily imaginative" (Psychology Today) from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz--for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace. Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship. "Steve Toltz channels a poet's delight in crafting the perfect phrase on every highly quotable page" (Publishers Weekly). With the same originality, brilliance, and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world, Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about love, faith, friendship, and the artist's obligation to his muse. Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity that "confounds and astonishes in equal measure, often on the same page...A tour de force" (Australian Book Review).
Release date Australia
April 5th, 2016
Author
Imprint
Simon & Schuster
Pages
368
Dimensions
140x208x25
ISBN-13
9781476797830
Product ID
24356353

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...