Wiener Philharmoniker - Neujahrskonzert: New Year's Concert 2009


DVD (Region 4)

Customer rating

(0 ratings) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order.


The first Viennese New Year for one of the world's greatest conductors, Daniel Barenboim.

The New Year's Concert in Vienna has been a glorious tradition for over six decades. A best-selling classical event year on year, the concert has unique global appeal. It is broadcast on TV and radio to over 50 countries, and is viewed by tens of millions of people all over the world.

The 2009 New Year's Day Concert will be conducted by the Argentinean-Israeli pianist and conductor Daniel Barenboim for the first time. From 1991-2006 Barenboim was the principal conductor of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and since 1992 has been the General Music Director of the State Opera Unter den Linden in Berlin. Barenboim's debut with the Vienna Philharmonic took place in 1989, and he has since been a regular guest.

In 1999, Barenboim and the late Palestinian academic Edward Säid founded the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, in which young musicians from the Middle East and Israel perform together. Among the many awards Barenboim has received, was the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize in Vienna in 2006. In September 2007 Barenboim was named as United Nations Peace Envoy.

The concert programme for 1st January 2009 will be the customary collection of Viennese delights, with six first time performances.

The first part of the concert is inspired by the conductor’s biography. For example, the waltz Märchen aus dem Orient (Tales from the Orient), alludes to a modern “fairy tale” – the founding of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, a symbol of inter-cultural tolerance. Other first performances in the first half include J. Strauss II’s Schnellpost-Polka (Express Mail Polka) and J. Hellmesberger’s Valse Espagnole (Spanish Waltz).

The second part of the concert makes constant allusions to the life and work of Joseph Haydn, culminating with the final movement of Haydn’s Symphony No.45 - 'Farewell Symphony'. This is the first time a work by Haydn has featured in the New Year’s Concert programme, and it will launch a year of events marking the bicentenary of the death of this great Austrian composerwho died in Vienna in May 1809. Other first appearances in the second half of the concert include J. Strauss I's Zampa-Galopp and J. Strauss II’s Alexandrine's Polka.

*J. Strauss II: A Night in Venice - Overture
J. Strauss II: Fairy Tales from the Orient - Waltz op.444
J. Strauss II: Anna's Polka, op.117
*J. Strauss II: Express Mail - Polka, op.159
J. Strauss: Roses from the South - Waltz, op.388
J. Strauss II: Magic Bullets - Polka op.326
J. Strauss II: The Gypsy Baron - Overture
J. Strauss II: The Gypsy Baron - Entrance March
J. Strauss II: Treasure Waltz op. 418
*J. Hellmesberger II: Spanish Waltz
*J. Strauss I: Zampa Galopp
*J.Strauss II: Alexandrine's Polka – French Polka op.198
J. Strauss II: Thunder and Lightning - Polka, op.324
Josef Strauss: Music of the Spheres – Waltz op. 235
J. Strauss II: Hurrah for Hungary! – Polka op. 332
*J. Haydn: Symphony No.45 in F sharp minor “Farewell” - IV.
J. Strauss II: We're not that worried! - Polka, op. 413
J. Strauss II: Blue Danube - Waltz op.314
J. Strauss I: Radetzky-March, op.228

*= first performance at a New Year's Concert

Release date Australia
March 16th, 2009
DVD Region
Region 4
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...