Pop Albums:

A Single Man



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

A Single Man by Elton John
$26.99 was $29.99 save 10%
or 4 payments of $6.75 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 12-18 July using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • Around 15-22 July using standard courier delivery

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"A Classic Underrated Album"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

A Single Man is a classic underrated album for Sir Elton John released in October 1978, this studio album has song enjoyable tracks from slow melodies to upbeat fun songs to sing along to, this is my favourite studio album from the great pop artist and is overlooked I feel, but I highely recomend this album if your a fan of Sir Elton John.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Personnel: Elton John (vocals, piano, harmonium, Clavinet, church organ, keyboards); Davey Johnstone (guitar, synthesizer, background vocals); Tim Renwick (guitar); B.J. Cole (steel guitar); Paul Buckmaster (cello); John Crocker (winds); Patrick Halcox, Henry Lowther (trumpet); Jim Shepherd (trombone); Herbie Flowers (bass); Steve Holly (drums); Ray Cooper (marimba, congas, tympani, tambourine, percussion); Clive Franks (percussion, background vocals); Vicki Brown, Stevie Lang, Joanne Stone, Watford Football Team, South Audley Street Girl's Choir, Gary Osborne (background vocals).

Engineers: Phil Dunne, Stuart Epps, Clive Franks.

Recorded at the Mill At Cookham, Berks, England between January & September 1978. Originally released on MCA (3065). Includes liner notes by Chris White.

Digitally remastered by Gus Dudgeon (Abbey Road Studios).

Canadian import of this U.S. out-of-print 1978 classic album.

The aptly titled A SINGLE MAN finds Elton John working without legendary partner Bernie Taupin, his usual lyricist, during a much-needed break from each other, following their turbulent, albeit wildly successful mid '70s collaborations. Joining forces instead with Gary Osborne, Elton takes the opportunity to present an album of pure craft--with its scaled down production, A SINGLE MAN is an almost live-sounding album, one of his most straightforward. This approach places in even greater relief John's gift for combining widely varying musical atmosphere with beautiful melodies and honest emotional performance.

If A SINGLE MAN didn't produce any legendary hits for Elton John, it provided a welcome chance for him to cool off and just write songs. As is his wont, John takes on a wide variety of styles: the Spanish-sounding melancholia of "Return To Paradise" moves handily into the upbeat strut of "I Don't Care" in a stylistic segue which few could pull off. The swaggering honky-tonk of "Big Dipper" finds itself juxtaposed with the soft rock of "It Ain't Gonna Be Easy." Stripped down though it may be, the album isn't without its epic--in this case it's the heavily orchestrated, under-sung "Song For Guy."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Shine On Through
  2. Return To Paradise
  3. I Don't Care
  4. Big Dipper
  5. It Ain't Gonna Be Easy
  6. Part-Time Love
  7. Georgia
  8. Shooting Star
  9. Madness
  10. Reverie
  11. Song For Guy
  12. Ego - (Bonus Track)
  13. Flinstone Boy - (Bonus Track)
  14. I Cry At Night - (Bonus Track)
  15. Lovesick - (Bonus Track)
  16. Strangers - (Bonus Track)
Release date Australia
January 6th, 2004
Polygram (Canada)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...