R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

And Then There Was X... [Explicit Lyrics]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

And Then There Was X... [Explicit Lyrics] by DMX
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Got this as a gift"
4 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

It's a thugs classic album, they loved it!


Personnel includes: DMX, Regina Bell, Dyme, Sisqo, The Lox, Drag-On.

Producers include: Swizz Beatz, P. Killer Trackz, Grease, Shok, Nokio.

Recorded at The Hit Factory, Miami, Florida and Power House, Yonkers, New York.

AND THEN THERE WAS X was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Rap Album and "Party Up" was nominated for Best Rap Solo Performance.

No other rapper exerts quite as much energy as Def Jam heavyweight DMX. With his adrenaline-pumped hip-hop anthems, Yonkers native DMX has taken the hip-hop industry by storm. His third album, AND THEN THERE WAS X came only one year after his highly-anticipated second album, FLESH OF MY FLESH..., which came only six months after his multi-platinum debut, IT'S DARK AND HELL IS HOT. With this series of rapid-fire releases, DMX was able to remain on the cutting edge of rap.

"What's My Name?" perhaps most clearly demonstrates the power of the Ruff Ryder frontman. The other Swizz Beatz-produced tracks bring forth more of the same flavor. His rough-edged lyrics and spitfire delivery will leave his "dogs" foaming at the mouth for more. Though X is backed by one of hip-hop's most prominent crews (the Ruff Ryders), the platinum pit bull proves he can hold his own and then some.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (2/3/00, p.58) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...he moves...with verve....DMX doesn't stray far from his proven formula: schizophrenic flows and old-age-wisdom-meets-street-knowledge buttressed by sea-chanteylike choruses..."
Entertainment Weekly (1/14/00, pp.73-4) - "...What makes DMX so compelling is the ravaged grain and electric urgency of his voice - he sounds like a man who...is just about to blow....That internal drama lends X a thematic ambition few contemporary rappers even bother to strive for..." - Rating: A-
Q (3/00, p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Excellent. The results are thrilling: dynamic anthemic stadium rap, plus loads of swearing..."
The Source (3/00, p.256) - 3.5 mics out of 5 - "...[DMX] hits you with that same X flow that made you wanna get at him in the first place. And as usual, the other side of his duel persona has a revealing conversation with God....his bark calls us...you just gotta feel."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Kennel, The - (skit)
  2. One More Road To Cross
  3. Professional, The
  4. Fame
  5. Alot To Learn - (skit)
  6. Here We Go Again
  7. Party Up
  8. Make A Move
  9. What The B*****s Want - (featuring Sisqo)
  10. What's My Name?
  11. More 2 A Song
  12. Don't You Ever
  13. Shakedown, The - (skit)
  14. D-X-L (Hard White) - (featuring The Lox/Drag-On)
  15. Comin' For Ya
  16. Prayer III
  17. Angel - (featuring Regina Belle)
  18. Good Girls, Bad Guys - (bonus track, featuring Dyme)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Def Jam (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...