Due to COVID-19, we're unable to accept new orders at this time. Learn more...

Oldies & Nostalgia Albums:

Elvis Heard Them Here First

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Due to COVID-19, we're unable to accept new orders at this time. Learn more...


Ace Records could have taken the obvious route with this project and stuck to Elvis’ revivals of R&B, blues and hillbilly material, but they’ve elected to compile “Elvis Heard Them Here First” from songs he cut after his military service put his career on hold for a while.

The selection here has been tailored to embrace the originals of some of his biggest hits – ‘Always On My Mind’, ‘Girl Of My Best Friend’, ‘Guitar Man’ – and some of his most obscure B-sides and albums cuts. Believe us, they don’t come much more obscure than Duane Dee’s ‘True Love Travels
On A Gravel Road’, the Bards’ ‘Goodtime Charlie’s Got The Blues’ or Roger Douglass’ ‘Never Ending’. In doing so, we hope more than a few of even the most hardcore Elvis collectors will discover some original versions of songs they may not have even suspected were ever recorded by anyone other than Elvis.

Throughout his life, Elvis grabbed music from everywhere. A voracious collector and listener, he loved nothing more than to put his own stamp on a song that he loved.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Bobby Darin – I Want You With Me
  2. Charlie Blackwell – The Girl Of My Best Friend
  3. Tippie & The Clovers – Bossa Nova Baby
  4. Carl Mann – I’m Comin Home 5. Ray Peterson – The Wonder Of You
  5. Thomas Wayne – Girl Next Door
  6. The Spidells / Billy Lockridge – Find Out What’s Happening
  7. Roger Douglas – Never Ending
  8. The Coasters – Girls Girls Girls Pt 2
  9. Vern Stoval – Long Black Limousine
  10. Bobby Wood – If I’m A Fool For Loving You
  11. Rick Nelson – Stop, Look & Listen
  12. Bob Dylan – Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  13. Jerry Reed – Guitar Man
  14. Brenda Lee – Always On My Mind
  15. Jerry Butler – Only The Strong Survive
  16. The Bards – Goodtime Charlie’s Got The Blues
  17. Duane Dee – True Love Travels On A Gravel Road
  18. Matthews’ Southern Comfort – I’ve Lost You
  19. T-Bone Walker – Three Corn Patches
  20. Charlie Rich – Pieces Of My Life
  21. Tony Joe White – For Ole Times Sake
  22. The Pointer Sisters – Fairytale
  23. Mickey Newbury – An American Trilogy
Release date Australia
May 18th, 2012
Ace Records
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Help & options

Filed under...