Metal Albums:

Empire [Remaster]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Empire [Remaster]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Empire [Remaster] by Queensryche
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Queensryche: Geoff Tate (vocals, keyboards); Chris DeGarmo (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Michael Wilton (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Eddie Jackson (electric bass, fretless basss, background vocals); Scott Rockenfield (drums, percussion).

Additional personnel includes: Michael Kamen (arranger).

Producer: Peter Collins.

Compilation producer: David K. Tedds.

Recorded at Vancouver Studios, Vancouver, Canada and Triad Studios, Redmond, Washington in 1990. Originally released on EMI (92806). Includes liner notes by Paul Suter.

This is part of EMI Records "Queensryche Remastered" series.

With the breakthrough success and worldwide respect that Queensryche gained from their conceptual masterpiece OPERATION: MINDCRIME, how could the band possibly outdo or at the least match themselves? Just two years after the release of MINDCRIME Queensryche reinvented themselves (though certainly not for the last time). While many fans were clamoring for a conceptual sequel, the band returned to a song-oriented approach that was more art rock and less metal-edged.

Now quite far removed from the fantasy and techno-paranoia lyrical themes of their earlier works, the band tackled overcoming social and physical handicaps ("Best I Can"), poverty, and regret ("Della Brown"). Focused much less on the darker side of love that was always so prevalent in their sound, the band was now brave enough to be romantic ("Another Rainy Night" and "Hand On Heart"). While Queensryche lost some diehard metal fans with EMPIRE, the mature sound and tight production of Peter Collins (Rush) saw the band break into the mainstream (and top off at #9 on the Billboard singles chart) with the Pink Floyd-inspired "Silent Lucidity."

What the critics say...

Q - 3 Stars - Good - Recommended as one of the top 5 metal albums of 1990. - "..The thinking person's rock album...which exudes craft and intelligence at will without ever sounding pretentious or forgetting mighty riffs and classic melodies.."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Best I Can
  2. Thin Line, The
  3. Jet City Woman
  4. Della Brown
  5. Another Rainy Night (Without You)
  6. Empire
  7. Resistance
  8. Silent Lucidity
  9. Hand On Heart
  10. One And Only
  11. Anybody Listening?
  12. Last Time In Paris - (bonus track)
  13. Scarborough Fair - (CD single track, bonus track)
  14. Dirty Lil Secret - (CD single track, bonus track)
Release date Australia
June 10th, 2003
EMI Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...