Country Albums:


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Recording information: 1947 - 1952.

It is difficult to complete with Mercury's 1978 two-disc Hank Williams set 40 GREATEST HITS, which set the standard for compilations to follow with its inventive sequencing and superb song selection. GOLD, however, comes mighty close. With 42 tracks spread out over two CDs, digitally remastered sound, and a thick booklet packed with notes and photographs, GOLD is an excellent primer for the Williams novice.

Williams wrote so many incredible songs--so many time-tested paeans to love, loss, joy, loneliness, and heartbreak--that it is impossible to include them all under one cover. But where GOLD is missing such gems as "Nobody's Lonesome for Me" and "Baby We're Really in Love," it includes live tracks, demo rarities like "Please Don't Let Me Love You," stark anthems like "Alone and Forsaken," and two songs that Williams recorded under the name Luke the Drifter. In between are scads of Hank essentials, including "Your Cheatin' Heart," the aching "I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love with You)," and "I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive" (one of pop music's great existentialist anthems). If you aren't acquainted with Hank Williams--and even if you are--GOLD is a great bet.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. I Saw the Light
  2. Mansion On the Hill, A
  3. Honky Tonkin'
  4. Move It On Over
  5. You're Gonna Change (Or I'm Gonna Leave)
  6. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  7. Mind Your Own Business
  8. My Bucket's Got a Hole In It
  9. Long Gone Lonesome Blues
  10. Cold, Cold Heart
  11. Howlin' At the Moon
  12. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)
  13. Hey, Good Lookin'
  14. Ramblin' Man - (with Luke The Drifter)
  15. I Dreamed About Mama Last Night - (with Luke The Drifter)
  16. (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
  17. Honky Tonk Blues
  18. Half As Much
  19. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
  20. Settin' the Woods On Fire
  21. I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive
  22. You Win Again
Disc 2:
  1. Your Cheatin' Heart
  2. Please Make Up Your Mind - (with Luke The Drifter)
  3. Kaw-Liga
  4. Take These Chains From My Heart
  5. Rockin' Chair Money
  6. Please Don't Let Me Love You
  7. Someday You'll Call My Name
  8. Cool Water
  9. First Year Blues
  10. Alone And Foresaken
  11. Angel Of Death, The
  12. Ready To Go Home
  13. There's a Tear In My Beer
  14. Wary Blues From Waitin'
  15. Why Don't You Leave Me
  16. Moanin' the Blues
  17. I'm a Long Gone Daddy
  18. Lost Highway
  19. I Can't Get You Off Of My Mind
  20. Lovesick Blues
Release date Australia
June 14th, 2005
Album Length (Minutes)
Mercury Nashville
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...