Blues Albums:

Gospel Roots

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Gospel Roots



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Gospel Roots by Aaron Neville
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Personnel: Aaron Neville (vocals); Anamaria Brandon, Stacy Chamblin, Greta Hardey, Jennifer Kuylen, Margann Turnipseed, Michelle Zeller (vocals); James Harrah, Greg Liesz (guitar); Blue Miller (acoustic guitar); Dean Parks, Shane Theriot (electric guitar); Sid Page, Judith Armistead, Burton Callahan, John Chung Law, Oskar Ozolinch (violin); Lauren Lemmier, Richard Woehrie (viola); Jonathan Gerhardt (cello); Jim Horn, David Woodford (saxophone); Sam Levine, Charles Neville (tenor saxophone); Steve Patrick (trumpet, flugelhorn); John Jarvis (piano, keyboards); Jim Cox (Wurlitzer piano, Hammond b-3 organ); Greg Phillinganes, Michael Goods (keyboards); Freddie Washington, Michael Rhodes (bass guitar); James Gadson, Eddie Bayers, Brian McCloud (drums); Mark Beckett (percussion); Darryl Phinnesse, Jacquelyn Gouche Farris, Jim Gilstrap, Alex Brown, Maxi Anderson, Alvin Chea, Mona Lisa Young, Phil Perry, Bridget Fiddmont (background vocals).

Recording information: Ultrasonic Studios, New Orleans, Louisiana (2003); Village Recorders, Los Angeles, CA; Soundcastle Studios, Silverlake, California.

Ensembles: Dirty Dozen Brass Band; Sandtown Children's Choir.

A husky man with the voice of a fluttering bird, Aaron Neville is one of America's most acclaimed male pop singers. Not surprisingly, he is also a tremendously gifted and dedicated gospel singer, and GOSPEL ROOTS presents Neville performing many well-known devotional songs, in addition to pop tunes that lend themselves well to spiritual interpretations.

A two-disc set, this uplifting outing celebrates life and God more than it proselytizes. In fact, GOSPEL ROOTS is a gentle, relaxing record that avoids over-the-top piousness. From the opening track, "Oh Happy Day," to the Bob Dylan classic "I Shall Be Released" to the archetypal "Amazing Grace," Neville hypnotizes listeners with his delicate vocals, employing a gorgeous falsetto on all 25 tracks. Whether interpreting the classical "Ave Maria" or the Beatles ballad "Let It Be," Neville invokes the true beauty and splendor of each selection. A serene, mellow release, GOSPEL ROOTS crosses stylistic boundaries with its varied set list, but it always remains true to the gospel tradition.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Oh Happy Day
  2. I Saw The Light
  3. What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  5. Morning Has Broken
  6. If I Had A Hammer
  7. Ave Maria
  8. Let It Be
  9. Mary, Don't You Weep
  10. Steer Me Right
  11. Gotta Serve Somebody
  12. Change Is Gonna Come, A
  13. I Believe
Disc 2:
  1. Let Go
  2. Banks Of The River Jordan
  3. Any Day Now
  4. Jesus Is A Friend Of Mine
  5. Jesus, Jesus, Jesus
  6. Jesus Loves Me
  7. Singing You A Prayer
  8. What Would Jesus Do?
  9. Going Home
  10. Were You There?
  11. I Shall Be Released
  12. Amazing Grace
Release date Australia
March 1st, 2005
EMI Gospel
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...