R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Grand Champ [Explicit Lyrics]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Includes a bonus DVD.

Personnel includes: DMX, Swizz Beatz, Chinky, Sheek, Syleena Johnson, Infa-Red, Cross And Drag-on, Eve, Jadakiss, Cam'Ron, Big Stan, Monica, Magic Val, Patti LaBelle.

Producers include: Tuneheadz, No I.D., DJ Scratch, Joaquin "Waah" Dean, Swizz Beats.

DMX loves dogs, and feels a connection to them; he's certainly never made a secret of it, infusing his raps with numerous references to man's best friend. On the intro to his fifth record, GRAND CHAMP, the East Coast rapper/actor asserts his canine preference as, not surprisingly, the pit bull ("they make good companions, but even worse enemies/it's all in how you take 'em"). It's a fitting portrait of the gruffer-than-gruff-voiced, remarkably uncompromising hardcore rapper, who leaves the listener to either embrace his stark world or get the hell out.

GRAND CHAMP reveals DMX to be as fierce as ever ("only know how to be one way, that's the thug"), spewing his usual blend of unconstrained love and vitriol. He follows the intro with one of his trademarked laying-it-on-the-line rants before launching into a series of furious condemnations. Like 2Pac and Nas, DMX has learned the value of the schizophrenic combination of the inspirational and the ultra-violent; he could be his own greatest companion and his fiercest enemy. It's this quality that makes him one of the most intriguing hip-hop superstars out there, and GRAND CHAMP continues his larger-than-life legacy.

What the critics say...

Spin (12/03, p.128) - "...DMX is pop's most riveting one-dimensional star. And like every DMX album, this is a mini-exorcism..." - Grade: B-
Mojo (Publisher) (11/03, p.129) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...F*** Y'all is a fizzing, barking onslaught, as fine as anything he's done..."s

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Dog Intro
  2. My Life - (featuring Chinky)
  3. Where The Hood At?
  4. Dogs Out
  5. Get It On The Floor - (featuring Swizz Beatz)
  6. Come Prepared - (skit)
  7. Show Down - (featuring 50 Cent/Styles P)
  8. Bring The Noize
  9. Untouchable - (featuring Sheek/Syleena Johnson/Infa-Red/Cross & Drag-On)
  10. F*** Y'All
  11. Ruff Radio - (skit)
  12. We're Back - (featuring Eve/Jadakiss)
  13. Ruff Radio - (skit)
  14. Rob All Night (If I'm Gonna Rob)
  15. We Go Hard - (featuring Cam'Ron)
  16. We 'Bout To Blow - (featuring Big Stan)
  17. Rain, The
  18. Gotta Go - (skit)
  19. Don't Gotta Go Home - (featuring Monica)
  20. A 'Yo Kato
  21. Magic And Val
  22. Thank You - (featuring Patti LaBelle)
  23. Prayer V, The
  24. On Top - (bonus track, featuring Big Stan)
Release date Australia
September 16th, 2003
Def Jam (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...