Rock Albums:

Great Rock N Roll Swindle [Limited Edition]

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Julien Temple ‘documentary’ film on the Sex Pistols, ‘The Great Rock ‘n’ Roll Swindle’ chronicled the legendary band’s fictional rise and subsequent break-up from the perspective of ‘The Embezzler’, manager Malcolm McLaren

Infamous, even upon its release, the film was shunned by John Lydon and his appearance in it was taken only from old archive footage. When it came to putting together the soundtrack a similar approach was taken, with Lydon’s vocals being taken from demo tapes and overdubbed with the rest of the band’s newly recorded instrumental tracks. What resulted was an eclectic mix of hits, covers and guest appearances, including The Sex Pistols' own versions of The Who’s ‘Substitute’, Chuck Berry’s ‘Johnny B Goode’ and Sid Vicious' take on Frank Sinatra's ‘My Way’, all nestled amongst tracks sung by Edward Tudor-Pole (of Tenpole Tudor), ‘The Black Arabs’ disco medley of the hits and a French version of ‘Anarchy In the UK’ (complete with accordion)

The album has now been fully remastered and comes packaged in a replica of the original vinyl sleeve, complete with gatefold digipack artwork, poster and stickers – a real collector’s item for any Pistols fan.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. God Save The Queen (Symphony)
  2. Rock Around The Clock
  3. Johnny B Goode
  4. Road Runner
  5. Black Arabs
  6. Anarchy In The UK
  7. Watch Gonna Do About It
  8. Who Killed Bambi-
  9. Silly Thing
  10. Substitute
  11. Don't Gimme No Lip Child
  12. I'm Not Your Stepping Stone
  13. Lonely Boy
  14. Something Else
  15. L'Anarchie Pour Le UK
  16. Einmal War Belsen Bortrefflich
  17. Einmal War Belsen Wirflich Bortrefflich
  18. No One Is Innocent
  19. My Way
  20. C'mon Everybody
  21. EMI (Orchestral)
  22. Great Rock N Roll Swindle, The
  23. You Need Hands
  24. Friggin' In The Riggin'
Re-released on
August 23rd, 2010
Virgin Records (UK)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...