Pop Albums:





Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Pulp: Jarvis Cocker, Mark Webber, Russell Senior, Candida Doyle, Steve Mackey, Nick Banks.

Additional personnel: Anne Dudley (arranger).

Producers include: Ed Buller, Phil Vinall, Chris Thomas, Scott Walker,

Peter Walsh.

Recorded between 1992 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Harland Miller.

Although Pulp was formed in the 1980s, the Sheffield, England band didn't hit its real stride until the mid-'90s, when it became one of the preeminent acts of the Britpop boom. Although HITS is an unlikely title in a Stateside light, since Pulp never broke through commercially in America, the collection does compile the ensemble's finest singles from the '90s to the early 2000s, when the group disbanded.

Fronted by the cheeky, charismatic Jarvis Cocker, Pulp made its name with techno-tinged pop (the middle-class anthem "Common People" and the surging, Laura Branigan-pilfering "Disco 2000"), but also turned its sights on fierce glam-rock ("Party Hard") and elegant chamber-pop ("The Trees"). Expertly channeling quirky yet sophisticated rock crooners Bryan Ferry and Scott Walker (who produced Pulp's last album), Cocker imbued the sextet's guitar- and keyboard-driven songs with a droll, literate aesthetic that remains its legacy. Though Pulp might have been better served by a lengthier compilation (classics such as 'Mis-Shapes" and "Mile End" are missed here), HITS, which includes the previously unreleased "Last Day of the Miners' Strike," is a concise sampler that works as a perfect introduction to this unmistakably British band.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Babies
  2. Razzamatazz
  3. Lipgloss
  4. Do You Remember The First Time?
  5. Common People
  6. Underwear
  7. Sorted For E's And Wizz
  8. Disco 2000
  9. Something Changed
  10. Help The Aged
  11. This Is Hardcore
  12. Little Soul, A
  13. Party Hard
  14. Trees
  15. Bad Cover Version
  16. Sunrise
  17. Last Days Of The Miners Strike - (previously unreleased)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Island Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...