R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

In My Own Words [Explicit Lyrics]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


By the time of his Def Jam solo debut in 2006, Ne-Yo had already been a high-profile behind-the-scenes figure in contemporary R&B, penning hits for the likes of Faith Evans and Mary J. Blige. Like those artists, Ne-Yo's music is influenced by hip-hop beats and production values, but falls squarely under the rubric of modern soul, and the talent he displayed writing for others is abundant here.

The grooves on IN MY OWN WORDS are mostly down- to mid-tempo, with plenty of room to showcase Ne-Yo's way with a lyric and melody. The album's first single, "Stay," is a case in point, layering vocal lines for a choral effect while Ne-Yo's fine, flexible voice soars over the top. As one might expect, matters of the heart are the primary theme, but Ne-Yo proves that the market can handle another romantic neo-soul crooner, especially one this talented.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[S]tate-of-the-art bump 'n' grind....[He] has an R. Kelly-ish delivery and a high, urgent tenor a little like Stevie Wonder's..."
Entertainment Weekly (p.100) - "Ne-Yo not only co-writes all of his material, but he wisely forgoes token samples in favor of juicy OFF THE WALL-era chord progressions." -- Grade: B-

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Stay - (with Ne-Yo/Peedi Peedi)
  2. Get Down Like That - (with Ne-Yo)
  3. Let Me Get This Right - (with Ne-Yo)
  4. When You're Mad - (with Ne-Yo)
  5. So Sick - (with Ne-Yo)
  6. I Ain't Gotta Tell You - (with Ne-Yo)
  7. Mirror - (with Ne-Yo)
  8. Sign Me Up - (with Ne-Yo)
  9. It Just Ain't Right - (with Ne-Yo)
  10. Get Down Like That - (remix, Hidden Track, with Ne-Yo)
  11. Let Go - (with Ne-Yo)
  12. Time - (with Ne-Yo)
Release date Australia
June 6th, 2006
Def Jam (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...