Rock Albums:

In Time: The Best Of R.E.M. 1988-2003 [Explicit Lyrics] [Limited]

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

In Time: The Best Of R.E.M. 1988-2003 [Explicit Lyrics] [Limited]




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


R.E.M.: Michael Stipe, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, Bill Berry.

Includes liner notes by Peter Buck.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

IN TIME: THE BEST OF R.E.M. 1988-2003 includes a limited editon bonus disc of 15 songs, a booklet with song descriptions, and a black & white mini poster of the band.

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

Many of those who revere R.E.M. tend to fixate on the Athens band's earlier days, when the Byrds-gone-new-wave jangle of Peter Buck's guitar and the inscrutable murmurs of curly-headed frontman Michael Stipe ruled the college-rock roost and set the standard for what came to be known as "alternative rock." Thus, it's often overlooked that the band didn't simply fade away after breaking through to the mainstream in the late-'80s. True to its title, IN TIME: THE BEST OF R.E.M. (1988-2003) chronicles the journey the group made after they became stars.

Ever willing and able to defy expectations, R.E.M. steadfastly refused to commercialize their sound or tart it up to fit the arenas that became their venues. IN TIME addresses the prolific 1988-1992 era with everything from the driving fan-favorite "Orange Crush" to the transcendent, tension-filled folk-rocker "Losing My Religion" and the soul-influenced, empathetic anthem "Everybody Hurts." Representing their days after the departure of drummer Bill Berry are songs such as the dusty desert twang of "All the Way to Reno" and the "It's the End of the World As We Know It" companion piece, "Bad Day." Observing their chosen post-fame path, it's obvious that long after Stipe had shorn his locks and the music industry made them rich, R.E.M. remained staunchly committed to creating the kind of artful, idiosyncratic music that had made them alt-rock icons in the first place.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (11/27/03, p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...[This] retrospective of the more cerebral Warner years shows that R.E.M. stuck to their principles and kept on their path..."
Entertainment Weekly (10/31/03, p.74) - "...The band's most user-friendly album....Weepy keepers like "Losing My Religion" and "Everybody Hurts" [join] two new songs [that] fall firmly within the group's tradition of beatific/moody sing-alongs you can't get out of your head..." - Rating: A-
Q (12/03, p.152) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Supremely melodic, slightly unsettling music that, in its archetypally opaque way, has usually managed to soundtrack it time..."
Uncut (1/04, p.128) - 4 stars out of 5 - "'Country Feedback', always a favourite of 'true' fans, is rendered here in all its half-spoken, ragged glory, pure spilt essence of R.E.M."
CMJ (11/3/03, p.9) - "...Hearing all these tracks on one collection makes it pleasingly apparent that this is one of the very few commercially successful bands that have maintained quality songwriting throughout its career without selling out once..."
Mojo (Publisher) (12/03, p.126) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Two CDs of some of the most melodic and fiercely intelligent music of the last 15 years..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Man On The Moon
  2. Great Beyond, The
  3. Bad Day
  4. What's The Frequency, Kenneth?
  5. All The Way To Reno
  6. Losing My Religion
  7. E-Bow The Letter
  8. Orange Crush
  9. Imitation Of Life
  10. Daysleeper
  11. Animal
  12. Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite, The
  13. Stand
  14. Electrolite
  15. All The Right Friends
  16. Everybody Hurts
  17. At My Most Beautiful
  18. Nightswimming
Disc 2:
  1. Pop Song '89 - (acoustic)
  2. Turn You Inside-Out - (live)
  3. Fretless
  4. Chance - (dub)
  5. It's A Free World Baby
  6. Drive - (live)
  7. Star Me Kitten - (featuring William S. Burroughs)
  8. Revolution
  9. Leave - (alternative version)
  10. Why Not Smile - (alternative version)
  11. Lifting, The - (demo version)
  12. Beat A Drum - (demo version)
  13. 2JN
  14. One I Love, The - (live)
  15. Country Feedback - (live)
Release date Australia
October 28th, 2003
Warner Bros Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...