Non-Fiction Books:

Introduction to Philosophical Problems

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Introduction to Philosophical Problems by Joseph Margolis
35% off
$60.99 was $93.99

Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 30 Sep to 4 Oct using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • Around 1-9 October using standard courier delivery

Description

This is a classic introduction to philosophy in the tradition of Bertrand Russell's "The Problems of Philosophy" and A.J. Ayer's "Central Questions of Philosophy". As in those books, here Margolis focuses on the core of Western Philosophy - questions of epistemology, ontology, language and logic. "An Introduction to Philosophical Problems" represents a major and authoritative mind revisiting basic problems and clarifying them both for their own sake and for that of the reader. Margolis shows how arguments concerning each of the chestnuts of Western philosophy are inter-related and argues - honestly and transparently - in favour of his own philosophical tradition, pragmatism. Thematically structured, "Introduction to Philosophical Problems" introduces such concepts as Knowledge and Belief, Perception and Sensation, Identity and Individualism, and Language and Truth.

Author Biography

Joseph Margolis is Laura H. Carnell Professor of Philosophy at Temple University. Margolis has published two dozen books and has had numerous visiting professorships (including New Zealand, South Africa and Canada). See www.pragmatism.org/library/margolis/margolis.htm. One of America's leading, most celebrated, philosophers.
Release date Australia
April 30th, 2006
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Continuum International Publishing Group Ltd.
Pages
320
Dimensions
129x198x21
ISBN-13
9780826490636
Product ID
1735524

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...