Rock Albums:

Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live 1980-81

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live 1980-81

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live 1980-81 by Pink Floyd
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Pink Floyd: Roger Waters, David Gilmour, Nick Mason, Richard Wright.

Additional personnel: Snowy White, Andy Roberts (guitar); Peter Woods (keyboards); Andy Brown (bass); Willie Wilson (drums); John Joyce, Stan Farber, Jim Haas, Joe Chemay (background vocals).

Includes liner notes by Gerald Scarfe, Roger Waters, Nick Mason, Jonathan Park, Mark Fisher, James Guthrie, David Gilmore, Richard Wright.

In releasing this two-CD live album of Pink Floyd's elaborate production, both the Roger Waters and David Gilmour-led camps almost atone for the bitter back-biting fans have endured throughout the '80s and '90s. As delivered by Waters, Gilmour, Nick Mason, Richard Wright and a smattering of back-up musicians, these renditions are a reminder of how tight this Floyd line-up could be.

Among THE WALL's major themes are the character's mixed feelings over sex as revealed by "Young Lust," an overprotective mom and the hazards thereof in "Mother," and the decision of the musician's label to drug him up to perform in "Comfortably Numb." Two welcome but ephemeral songs cut from the original studio album, "What Shall We Do Now?" and "The Last Few Bricks" are also included in this release of Waters' sprawling concept. Complimenting the crystalline acoustics of this classic performance is packaging including 64 pages of artwork and photos from the original shows, with liner notes by all four Floyd members, art director Gerald Scarfe, and the show's stage designers.

What the critics say...

Q (6/00, p.128) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...What's truly amazing is how music this deep and uncomprimising sold so well. Water's...portentous instrumentation and use of repeated motifs was almost classical in conception and execution..."
CMJ (5/1/00, p.25) - "...Delivers the audio spectacle of the performance in its entirety, while also featuring 'What Shall We Do Now?,' which was included in 'The Wall's film version only, and 'The Last Few Bricks' which had not been released previously in any form.
Mojo (Publisher) (5/00, pp.104-5) - "...For sheer balls, these live performances, seamlessly woven together, knock the stuffing out of the somewhat antiseptic original studio recording..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Master Of Ceremonies
  2. In The Flesh?
  3. Thin Ice, The
  4. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 1)
  5. Happiest Days Of Our Lives, The
  6. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2)
  7. Mother
  8. Goodbye Blue Sky
  9. Empty Spaces
  10. What Shall We Do Now?
  11. Young Lust
  12. One Of My Turns
  13. Don't Leave Me Now
  14. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 3)
  15. Last Few Bricks, The
  16. Goodbye Cruel World
Disc 2:
  1. Hey You
  2. Is There Anybody Out There?
  3. Nobody Home
  4. Vera
  5. Bring The Boys Back Home
  6. Comfortably Numb
  7. Show Must Go On, The
  8. Master Of Ceremonies
  9. In The Flesh
  10. Run Like Hell
  11. Waiting For The Worms
  12. Stop
  13. Trial, The
  14. Outside The Wall
Release date Australia
April 18th, 2000
Columbia (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options