Metal Albums:

Light from Above



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Light from Above by Black Tide
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Rock Metal is Back!!!!!!!"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

I love the brand of heavy rock that these guys bing to the fold, superb rifts, awesome solos and a lead singer who would make any headbanger proud


Black Tide was formed in Miami, Florida in 2004 by vocalist and guitarist Gabriel Garcia and second guitarist Alex Nuñez. At the time, Garcia was 10 years old and Nuñez was 13 years old. Garcia and Nuñez recruited bassist Zachary Sandler and drummer Steven Spence, friends of theirs who were both 14 and 15 years of age at the time, respectively. This completed the band's lineup. Originally known as Radio, the band's name was changed to Black Tide soon after its inception, gaining the attention of record labels due to the members' young age and talent. By mid 2007, Black Tide was signed on to Interscope.

Black Tide recorded a single, "Shockwave", which gained rotation on MTV2's Headbangers Ball. The band started touring and gained a position on the second stage of Ozzfest. Black Tide entered the studio in Chicago, Illinois with producer Johnny K. The band recorded 12 new tracks which included a cover of Metallica's first written song, "Hit the Lights", which originally appeared on Kill 'Em All. The album was critically praised, with Dan Epstein of Revolver Magazine saying "Listening to the debut album from Miami's Black Tide is a little like stumbling across a cool late-80s metal record you'd completely forgotten about. A very promising debut" and Scott Alisoglu of stating the album contains "Big, sometimes pop-based, melodies meets crunchy, guitar-driven metal that falls somewhere between thrash/traditional metal and the dirtier end of '80s glam/hair metal."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Shockwave
  2. Shout
  3. Warriors Of Time
  4. Give Me A Chance
  5. Let Me
  6. Show Me The Way
  7. Enterprise
  8. Live Fast Die Young
  9. Hit The Lights
  10. Black Abyss
  11. Light From Above
  12. Black Widow
Release date Australia
May 5th, 2008
Number of Discs
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...