Rock Albums:

Music By Ry Cooder

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Music By Ry Cooder



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Music By Ry Cooder by Ry Cooder
Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Personnel includes: Ry Cooder (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, banjo, mandola, mandolin, fiddle, accordion, piano, bowed piano, keyboards, synthesizer, bass, percussion); Harry Dean Stanton (vocals); Jim Dickinson (guitar, dulceola, piano, organ keyboards, harmonium); Tom Sauber (guitar, fiddle, banjo, jawsharp); David Mansfield (violin, cello); R. Carlos Nakai (flute); Flaco Jimenez (accordion); John "Juke" Logan (harmonica); John Hassell (trumpet); Loren Marsteller (euphonium); George Bohannon (trombone, baritone horn); Jim Keltner (bowed piano, drums, percussion); Van Dyke Parks, David Lindley, John Hiatt, Freddy Fender, Sam Samudio.

Compilation producers: Ry Cooder, Joachim Cooder.

Includes liner notes by Ry Cooder & Walter Hill.

MUSIC BY RY COODER is an anthology of Cooder's film music projects and includes some previously unreleased songs.

What the critics say...

Q (8/95, p.137) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "'s an intermittently interesting listen, best suited to the early morning..."
Melody Maker (8/5/95, p.35) - "...up there with Ennio Morricone. Cooder's an erudite, articulate exploration of the music indigenous to the particular film's setting....genius by the bucketload..."
NME (Magazine) (7/15/95, p.49) - 7 (out of 10) - "...a marvellous, enquiring artist....There's masses of slide guitar and weird tunings; country blues gone futuristic and minimal. If you thought John Squire was a bit nifty on the bottleneck, then let Ry blow your tiny brain..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Paris, Texas
  2. Southern Comfort (Theme) - (previously unreleased)
  3. Alamo Bay (Theme)
  4. Across The Borderline
  5. Highway 23
  6. Bomber Bash - (previously unreleased)
  7. Greenhouse
  8. Nice Bike
  9. I Like Your Eyes
  10. Main Theme
  11. See You In Hell, Blind Boy
  12. Feelin' Bad Blues
  13. Swamp Walk - (previously unreleased)
  14. Angola
  15. Viola Lee Blues
  16. Long Riders, The
  17. Archie's Funeral (Hold To God's Unchanging Hand)
  18. Jesse James
Disc 2:
  1. King Of The Street
  2. Sunny's Tune
  3. No Quiero
  4. Cruising With Rafe
  5. Klan Meeting
  6. I Can't Walk This Time / The Prestige
  7. East St. Louis
  8. Goose And Lucky
  9. Goyakla Is Coming
  10. Canoes Upstream - (previously unreleased)
  11. Cancion Mixteca
  12. Maria
  13. Bound For Canaan (Sieber & Davis)
  14. Bound For Canaan (The 6th Cavalry)
  15. Train To Florida
  16. Houston In Two Seconds
Release date Australia
July 18th, 1995
Warner Archives
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help