Rock Albums:

No Regrets



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel includes: Leon Redbone (vocals, guitar); Lori Lynn Smith (vocals); Jerry Douglas, Cindi Cashdollar (lap steel guitar, dobro); Al Vescovo (pedal steel guitar); John Gill (tenor banjo, drums); Bela Fleck (banjo); Mark O'Connor (mandolin, mandola, violin, viola); Bunky Keels, Terry Waldo (piano); Brian Nalepka, Roy Huskey, Jr. (upright bass).

Recorded at Nashville Sound Connection, Nashville, Tennessee and Manhattan Recording Company, New York.

Personnel include: Leon Redbone (vocals); Jerry Douglas (lap steel guitar, dobro); Bela Fleck (banjo); Mark O'Connor (mandola, mandolin, violin, viola); Roy Huskey Jr. (bass instrument).

Recording information: Nashville Sound Connection, Nashville, TN; Manhattan Recording Company, New York, NY.

Since the late 1980s, Leon Redbone has been steadily adding a country influence to his appealing blend of ragtime, swing, and Tin Pan Alley revivalism. NO REGRETS continues this trend, with touches of bluegrass and Western Swing coming to the fore via Redbone's low-key, jazzy arrangements and deep, sometimes theatrical voice. The opener, "She Ain't Rose," sets the stage nicely, and subsequent cover tunes by Ernest Tubb ("You Nearly Lose Your Mind"), Hank Williams ("Long Gone Lonesome Blues"), and Jimmie Rodgers ("Somewhere Down Below the Dixon Line") prove Redbone's roots are as firmly in country soil as they are in New Orleans jazz and big-city show tunes.

A host of fine session musicians, including Jerry Douglas and Bela Fleck, are on board to lend musical support. The accompaniment, in fact--which includes dobro, pedal steel, and mandolin--helps create the rootsy, barroom feel of the album. Even the Johnny Mercer/Hoagy Carmichael song "Lazy Bones" gets a weepy, twangy reading more appropriate to a roomful of cowboys than a nightclub (though Redbone's voice keeps it well suited to both). Ultimately, NO REGRETS comes off as a paean to America's home-grown music-- not only its roots, but its polished, decorative branches as well.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. She Ain't Rose
  2. Wild And Wicked Ways
  3. She's My Gal
  4. Crazy Arms
  5. Long Gone Lonesome Blues
  6. Somewhere Down Below The Dixon Line
  7. Lazy Bones
  8. It's A Lonely World
  9. Another Story, Another Time, Another Place
  10. You Nearly Lose Your Mind
  11. Mr. & Mrs. Used To Be
  12. Some Sweet Day
  13. My Good Gal's Gone Blues
  14. Are You Lonesome Tonight
Release date Australia
July 20th, 2004
Rounder Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help