Rock Albums:

Oh You're So Silent Jens

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Oh You're So Silent Jens



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


If you don't know Jens Lekman, you should, and OH YOU'RE SO SILENT JENS, a compilation of his best work from the early 2000s, is an excellent place to get acquainted with this charming singer/songwriter. Bringing together work from his EPs and proper albums with singles and remixes, the set is solid through and through.

Like Stephen Merritt and his inspirations, George and Ira Gershwin, Lekman writes those rare songs that are funny, tender, clever, caustic, and heartbreakingly poignant all at once. His use of samples (often simple, yet perfectly so) and orchestrated chamber pop arrangements reveal a deep study of pop knowledge. But beyond both Lekman's skills as a sound architect and his uncanny knack with a beautiful melody, it is his surprisingly powerful lyrics and strangely affecting deadpan delivery that help make this a small-scale pop masterpiece.

What the critics say...

Uncut (p.85) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Arch, sardonic and playful, this is smartly constructed pop served up with mighty aplomb."
CMJ (p.4) - "For Swedish singer-songwriter Jens Lekman, life is a comic tragedy of misunderstanding. Luckily pain makes great EPs..."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.102) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] surprisingly consistent listen....The gushing 'Maple Leaves' and 'Black Cab' are highlights..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. At The Dept. Of Forgotten Songs
  2. Maple Leaves - (EP Version)
  3. Sky Phenomenon
  4. Pocketful Of Money
  5. Black Cab
  6. Someone To Share My Love With
  7. Rocky Dennis' Farewell Song
  8. Rocky Dennis In Heaven
  9. Jens Lekman's Farewell Song To Rocky Dennis
  10. Julie - (remix)
  11. I Saw Her In The Anti War Demonstration
  12. Sweet Summer's Night On Hammer Hill, A
  13. Man Walks Into A Bar, A
  14. Another Sweet Summer's Night On Hammer Hill
  15. F-Word
  16. Wrong Hands, The
  17. Maple Leaves - (7" version)
Release date Australia
August 17th, 2006
Secretly Canadian
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help