Rock Albums:

Once In A Lifetime [Box]

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Once In A Lifetime [Box]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


ONCE IN A LIFETIME contains a DVD including the tracks: "Once In A Lifetime," "Wild Wild Life," "Stay Up Late," "Crosseyed And Painless," "Burning Down The House," "And She Was," "This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)," "The Lady Don't Mind," "Love For Sale," "Road To Nowhere," "Blind, (Nothing But) Flowers," and " Sax And Violins".

Talking Heads: David Byrne (vocals, guitar, vocodor, synthesizer, bass, percussion); Jerry Harrison (guitar, piano, organ, synthesizer, bass, background vocals); Tina Weymouth (keyboards, synthesizer, bass, percussion, background vocals); Chris Frantz (keyboards, synthesizer, drums, percussion).

Additional personnel: Brian Eno (guitar, piano, synthesizer, bass, percussion, background vocals); Robert Fripp (guitar); Jon Hassell (trumpet); Wally Badarou (keyboards); Robert Palmer, Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Nona Hendryx (background vocals).

Producers include: Mark Spector, Tony Bongiovi, Lance Quinn, Talking Heads, Brian Eno.

Compilation producers: Talking Heads, Gary Stewart, Andy Zax.

Recorded between 1976 & 1992. Includes liner notes by Tim Scanlin.

Expanding on the excellent two-disc SAND IN THE VASELINE compilation, the three-CD/one-DVD Talking Heads box set, ONCE IN A LIFETIME, includes most of the former release, along with more than 20 additional tracks. Like the highly visual NYC art-rockers themselves, the collection, in both sound and design, is perversely smart and strangely beautiful.

Starting with the group's early days in the late 1970s, ONCE IN A LIFETIME features frantic, urban-themed tracks such as "Don't Worry about the Government" and "Pulled Up." From the city, the setting shifts to wider spaces on their breakthrough cover of Al Green's "Take Me to the River" and the rural twang of "The Big Country." The second disc sees the Heads hitting the zenith of their fruitful collaborations with Brian Eno, while frontman David Byrne reaches new levels of both lyricism and experimentation on the iconic title track. The third disc cherry-picks from the group's later years, including their most accessible songs ("And She Was," "Road to Nowhere," and "Wild Wild Life"), along with the previous unreleased outtake "In Asking Land." As a summation of the consistently inventive and restlessly energetic ensemble that was the Talking Heads, things don't get any better than ONCE IN A LIFETIME.

What the critics say...

Entertainment Weekly (11/28/03, p.127) - "...This stunningly produced [box set] moves from the perky pretentio-pop of 'Psycho Killer' to the Afro-rock experiments on REMAIN IN LIGHT..." - Rating: A-
Q (12/03, p.156) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...This collection is laced with a compelling sense of psychosis..."
Uncut (1/04, p.118) - 4 stars out of 5 - "'Once In A Lifetime' still sounds like it's being broadcast back to us from some voodoo World Service of the future....TALKING HEADS ought to be lauded as authentic pioneers."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Sugar On My Tongue
  2. Love -> Building On Fire
  3. I Wish You Wouldn't Say That
  4. Don't Worry About The Government
  5. Uh-Oh, Love Comes To Town - (previously unreleased, alternate version)
  6. New Feeling - (previously unreleased, alternate version)
  7. Pulled Up
  8. Psycho Killer
  9. Warning Sign
  10. Artists Only
  11. Tentative Decisions
  12. No Compassion
  13. Stay Hungry
  14. I'm Not In Love
  15. Book I Read, The
  16. Thank You For Sending Me An Angel
  17. Found A Job
  18. Clean Break, A - (live)
  19. Take Me To The River
  20. Big Country, The
  21. Heaven
Disc 2:
  1. I Zimbra
  2. Cities - (alternate version)
  3. Life During Wartime
  4. Air
  5. Memories Can't Wait
  6. Drugs - (alternate version)
  7. Once In A Lifetime
  8. Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)
  9. Listening Wind
  10. Houses In Motion
  11. Crosseyed And Painless
  12. Burning Down The House
  13. Making Flippy Floppy
  14. Girlfriend Is Better
  15. Slippery People
  16. Swamp
  17. This Music Be The Place (Naive Melody)
Disc 3:
  1. And She Was
  2. Stay Up Late
  3. Creatures Of Love
  4. Lady Don't Mind, The
  5. Road To Nowhere
  6. Wild Wild Life
  7. Love For Sale
  8. People Like Us
  9. Puzzlin' Evidence
  10. City Of Dreams
  11. Blind
  12. Mr. Jones
  13. Democratic Circus, The
  14. Flowers, (Nothing But)
  15. In Asking Land - (outtake)
  16. Sax And Violins
  17. Lifetime Piling Up
Release date Australia
November 18th, 2003
Rhino Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...