Rock Albums:

Personality: One Was A Spider One Was A Bird



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Sleepy Jackson: Luke Steele (vocals, guitar); Julian Hamilton (piano, keyboards); Kim Moyes (vibraphone, percussion); David Symes (bass guitar); Malcolm Clark (drums); Felix Bloxsom (percussion).

The Australian indie outfit the Sleepy Jackson introduced their eclectic, wildly creative aesthetic to the world on 2003's LOVERS. The band's sophomore release, PERSONALITY: ONE WAS A SPIDER ONE WAS A BIRD, continues their dedication to lush, symphonic pop with clear ties to the Beatles and the Beach Boys. The songs on PERSONALITY are dense and expansive, blending high-minded psychedelia, sweet, melody-based songwriting, and layered arrangements (which sometimes resemble lounge or easy-listening music). Fans of carefully constructed symphonic pop will find plenty to bask in here.

What the critics say...

Spin (p.85) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Steele's no '60s nostalgist -- with jazzy chords and cooing girls, his way-back machine is aimed precisely for 1985."
Q (p.112) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Steele and co-producer Scott Horscroft have constructed choral textures that soar, mixing up layers of harmonies down to a single vocal wash, grafting them to strings, horns, guitar, a winging rhythm section and even sleigh bells."
Q (p.118) - Ranked #69 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.90) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[M]ulti-layered backing vocals and summery hooks tickle the spine with ever listen."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. You Needed More
  2. Devil Was In My Yard
  3. God Lead Your Soul
  4. Work Alone
  5. God Knows
  6. I Understand What You Want But I Just Don't Agree
  7. Miles Away
  8. Higher Than Hell
  9. Play A Little Bit For Love
  10. Don't Say
  11. You Won't Bring People Down In My Town
  12. Dream On
  13. How Was I Supposed To Know
Release date Australia
July 27th, 2006
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help