R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Power To The People & The Beats Public Enemy's Greatest Hits [Explicit Lyrics] [Digipak]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Power To The People & The Beats Public Enemy's Greatest Hits [Explicit Lyrics] [Digipak]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Public Enemy: Flavor Flav, Professor Griff, Chuck D (rap vocals); Terminator X (turntables); The Bomb Squad, Security Of The First World, The Interrogators, Department Of Liberation.

Additional personnel include: Stephen Stills (vocals); Sister Souljah (rap vocals); Vernon Reid (guitar); Al MacDowell (bass guitar).

Recording information: 1988 - 1998.

One of the greatest groups in hip-hop history, Public Enemy emerged in the mid-1980s determined to take rap in a bold new direction. P.E.'s sound channeled elements of rock, funk, and soul through the conduit of the Bomb Squad's dense, inventive--and sometimes avant-garde--production techniques. While Chuck D was the focus, tackling weighty social and political issues through his fierce lyrics and booming delivery, the jester-like antics of Flavor Flav were just as crucial to the P.E. aesthetic.

This 2005 collection expertly represents Public Enemy's finest moments from 1987 to 1998, beginning with the one-two punch of "You're Gonna Get Yours" and "Public Enemy No. 1." Most importantly, the compilation boasts a generous sampling of tracks from P.E.'s groundbreaking masterpieces, 1988's IT TAKES A NATION OF MILLIONS TO HOLD US BACK and 1990's FEAR OF A BLACK PLANET. These include the original version of the blistering "Bring the Noise," the outraged "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos" (later covered by Tricky), the defiant "Fight the Power," and the scathing, ridiculously catchy "911 Is a Joke." With its excellent selection, the 18-track POWER TO THE PEOPLE easily beats the group's 11-song 20TH CENTURY MASTERS collection, making it the essential Public Enemy anthology.

What the critics say...

Uncut (p.130) - 4 stars out of 5 - "PE harnessed the power of chaos and rage more effectively than any punk or speed-metal merchant, were more articulate in their anger than any folk singer, were as righteous as any roots reggae or gospel singer..."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.132) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[With] squealing, clashing samples..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. You're Gonna Get Yours
  2. Public Enemy No. 1
  3. Rebel Without A Pause
  4. Bring The Noise
  5. Don't Believe The Hype
  6. Prophets Of Rage
  7. Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos
  8. Fight The Power
  9. Welcome To The Terrordome
  10. 911 Is A Joke
  11. Brothers Gonna Work It Out
  12. Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man
  13. Can't Truss It
  14. Shut Em Down
  15. By The Time I Get To Arizona
  16. Hazy Shade Of Criminal
  17. Give It Up
  18. He Got Game
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Def Jam (USA)
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...