Rock Albums:

Tea & Sympathy



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


This is the debut solo album by Powderfinger's lead singer Bernard Fanning.

Personnel include: Bernard Fanning (vocals, various instruments); Tchad Blake (pedal steel guitar); John Bedggood (mandolin, piano, keyboards, background vocals); Jerry Marotta (drums, percussion); Stu Miller (background vocals).

Recording information: Leafy Bug, Brisbane, Australia.

Formerly lead singer of the Australian alt-rock band Powderfinger, Bernard Fanning makes his solo debut with TEA AND SYMPATHY. An actor in Australian indie films alongside his music career, Fanning has a casually powerful voice that, thankfully, never quite shades into bombast, but powers songs like "Songbird" and "Wish You Well"--both of which were hit singles in Fanning's native land--with a decent amount of soul. The crisp, guitar-based production recalls both the 1970s American country-rockers (Neil Young and the Eagles, primarily) that are Fanning's key influence, as well as more recent hitmakers like Counting Crows and the Wallflowers.

What the critics say...

No Depression (p.138) - "In addition to his flair for intelligent, introspective lyrics, Fanning also has an intoxicatingly expressive voice."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Thrill Is Gone - (studio)
  2. Wish You Well - (studio)
  3. Not Finished Just Yet - (studio)
  4. Songbird - (studio)
  5. Believe - (studio)
  6. Which Way Home? - (studio)
  7. Wash Me Clean - (studio)
  8. Hope & Validation - (studio)
  9. Sleeping Rough - (studio)
  10. Strangest Thing - (studio)
  11. Further Down The Road - (studio)
  12. Down To The River - (studio)
  13. Yesterday's Gone - (studio)
  14. Watch Over Me - (studio)
Release date Australia
August 8th, 2006
Mercury Nashville
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help