Crime & Mystery Books:

The Bear Pit

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Bear Pit

The Seeker 4



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Bear Pit by S. G. MacLean
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Captain Damian Seeker is busy with the most complex intelligence operation of his career since he started working for Secretary Thurloe. His task is to use double agent Thomas Faithly to infiltrate illegal gambling dens around London, as well as more respectable Royalist circles - like that of diarist John Evelyn. When Seeker raids one such gambling den, Faithly is arrested along with the gamblers. Also discovered in the raid is the body of a man, chained to a post and with the marks of having been mauled to death by some wild animal. Seeker is convinced it was a bear - but the city's bear pits were closed years ago. Faithly claims no knowledge of the murdered man or how he came to sustain his injuries, but can he be trusted? A labyrinthine investigation lies before Seeker, involving old friends from Kent's Coffee House as well as new ones - like Lawrence Ingolby, a Yorkshire lad now studying law in London. New enemies will be made as well, and the truth, when it is revealed, will point to a deadly conspiracy coming from the highest levels of the Royalist court. The very life of the Lord Protector is at stake. Will Seeker solve the riddle of the bear pit in time?

Author Biography

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth and seventeenth century Scottish history. She lives in Conon Bridge, Scotland with her husband and four children. She has written four highly acclaimed historical thrillers set in Scotland, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton, A Game of Sorrows, Crucible and The Devil's Recruit. Her latest series of historical thrillers is set in Oliver Cromwell's London. The first book in the series, The Seeker, won the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger and the second, The Black Friar, was longlisted for the same award. Follow her on Instagram @iwritemybike
Release date Australia
July 11th, 2019
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Quercus Publishing
Product ID

Customer previews

Nobody has previewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Preview

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...