Pop Albums:

The Rat Pack: Boys Night Out



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Rat Pack: Boys Night Out by Various Artists
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


In the 1960s, for those looking for a different stylistic bent than what the booming rock world offered, the Rat Pack was the ultimate coterie of cool. That august organization's musical ambassadors, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Sammy Davis, Jr., would often turn up at one another's performances to sing and joke together. While there are extant live recordings of those events, BOYS NIGHT OUT is something different. Despite initial appearances, it's mostly a compilation of studio tracks featuring Sinatra, Davis, and Martin on their own. The feel is uniformly up-tempo and swinging, as the brass brays with abandon and the drums lay down a jazz-inflected beat behind each singer in turn. There are a couple of signature songs (Davis's "Yes I Can" and "The Goin's Great"), but it's mostly more esoteric fare (including, somewhat inexplicably, Sinatra's version of "Ol' MacDonald"). All three vocalists are present on one track, "We Open in Venice," while Martin and Sinatra pair up on both the "Guys and Dolls" theme and its reprise. Throughout the compilation, you can almost hear the dice rolling and the ice cubes clinking in the tumblers.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Here Goes - Frank Sinatra
  2. Who's Got The Action? - Dean Martin
  3. Yes I Can - Sammy Davis Jr.
  4. We Open In Venice - Sammy Davis Jr./Frank Sinatra/Dean Martin
  5. You Can't Love 'Em All - Dean Martin
  6. Ol' MacDonald - Frank Sinatra
  7. There Is Nothin' Like A Dame - Sammy Davis Jr.
  8. Grazie, Prego, Scusi - Dean Martin
  9. Boys' Night Out, The - Frank Sinatra
  10. Goin's Great, The - Sammy Davis Jr.
  11. Guys And Dolls - Frank Sinatra/Dean Martin
  12. Something's Gotta Give - Sammy Davis Jr.
  13. Baby-O - Dean Martin
  14. River, Stay 'Way From My Door - Frank Sinatra
  15. (Love Is) The Tender Trap - Sammy Davis Jr.
  16. All In A Night's Work - Dean Martin
  17. Just One Of Those Things - Frank Sinatra
  18. Once In A Lifetime - Sammy Davis Jr.
  19. Guys And Dolls - Frank Sinatra/Dean Martin (reprise version, bonus track)
Release date Australia
November 11th, 2004
Capitol/EMI Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...