The Rose That Grew From Concrete...




Customer rating

(0 ratings) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Our price
In stock with supplier
The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.
Usually ships within 48 hours

Buy together and save

List price: $29.98

Buy together: $29.61 (save 1%)

75% of people buy The Rose That Grew From Concrete... and Loyal To The Game [Explicit Lyrics] ~ CD ~ 2Pac.


Full Title: The Rose That Grew From Concrete Vol. 1.

Personnel includes: 2Pac, Q Tip, Mos Def, Outlawz, Geronimo Pratt, Dead Prez, Tre, K-Ci & Jo Jo, 4th Avenue Jones, Babatunde Olatunge, Danny Glover, Quincy Jones, Russell Simmons, Nikki Giovanni, Sarah Jones, Malcolm Jamal Warner, Sonya Sanchez, Lamar Antwon Robinson, Rha Goddess, Dan Rockett, Mac Mall.

Producers include: Jamal Joseph, QD3, Eric Rico, Voza Rivers, Mos Def.

Engineers include: Tyson Leeper, Michael Dunston, Denis Degher.

Includes liner notes by Afeni Shakur.

Tupac Shakur's work and iconic importance have attracted an even greater degree of respect and attention after his death than they did during his lifetime. Unparalleled in the hip-hop world, Tupac's posthumous fame finds its precedents in rockers like Jimi Hendrix and Jim Morrison, bad boys whose message was deeper than their hedonistic image suggested. The Tupac legacy continues apace with THE ROSE THAT GREW FROM CONCRETE. Essentially a various artists collection, it finds a wide variety of artists contributing spoken word performances of Shakur's poetry. Dashes of jazz, reggae, funk, and hip-hop accompany rapper Mos Def, poet Nikki Giovanni, actor Danny Glover, and others as they interpret the prose of the late rapper. Despite Shakur's gangsta image, most of his poems reflect a belief in positive social change through the efforts of an enlightened community that he sought to encourage.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (12/21/00, p.172) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Shows a more sensitive Tupac....shining light on a side of [him] that often gets forgotten."
Entertainment Weekly (11/24/00, p.82) - "...The rapper's poetry as spoken-word performances, hip-hop rhymes, reggae grooves, and country ditties....leaving listeners assured of [his] poetic gifts and saddened by his death..." - Rating: A-
Q (1/01, p.121) - 3 out of 5 stars - "...The music covers a broad spectrum from hip hop to country rock and theatrical readings with jazz and African backgrounds....Thoughtful but unpretentious."
Melody Maker (12/5/00, p.57) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...A homely, organic collection with plentiful standout tracks..."
NME (Magazine) (11/18/00, p.43) - 8 out of 10 - "...A bravura effort..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Tupac Interlude
  2. Wake Me Up When I'm Free - (featuring Babatunde Olatunji/Sikiru Adepoju)
  3. Can U C The Pride In The Panther - (male version, featuring Mos Def)
  4. When Ure Heart Turns Cold - (featuring Sonia Sanchez)
  5. U R Ripping Us Apart!!! - (featuring Dead Prez)
  6. Tears Of A Teenage Mother - (featuring Jasmine Guy)
  7. God - (featuring Reverend Run)
  8. And Still I Love You - (featuring Red Rat)
  9. Can U C The Pride In The Panther - (female version, featuring Mos Def)
  10. If There Be Pain - (featuring Providence/RasDaveed El Harar)
  11. A River That Flows Forever - (featuring Danny Glover/Afeni Shakur/The Cast of the Lion King)
  12. Rose That Grew From Concrete, The - (featuring Nikki Giovanni)
  13. In The Event Of My Demise - (featuring The Outlawz/Geronimo Ji Jaga)
  14. What Of A Love Unspoken - (featuring Tre)
  15. Sometimes I Cry - (featuring Dan Rockett)
  16. Fear In The Heart Of A Man, The - (featuring Q-Tip)
  17. Starry Night - (featuring Quincy Jones/Mac Mall/Rashida Jones)
  18. What Of Fame? - (featuring Russell Simmons)
  19. Only 4 The Righteous - (featuring Rha Goddess)
  20. Why Must U Be Unfaithful - (featuring Sarah Jones)
  21. Wife 4 Life - (featuring 4th Avenue Jones/K-CI)
  22. Lady Liberty Needs Glasses - (featuring Malcolm Jamal Warner)
  23. Family Tree - (featuring Lamar Antwon Roninson/The IMPACT Repertory Theatre Group)
  24. Thug Blues - (featuring Lamar Antwon Robinson/Tina Thomas Bayyan/The IMPACT Repertory Theatre)
  25. Sun & The Moon, The - (featuring Chief Okena Littlehawk)
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Interscope Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...