Fiction Books:

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge

The heart-breaking historical bestseller

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge by Kali Napier
38% off
$18.99 was $30.99
or 4 payments of $4.75 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 10-14 days

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 12-19 November using standard courier delivery

Description

'One of the best books I've read this year!' Melissa Ashley, author of The Birdman's Wife Already a bestseller in Australia, this is a haunting, memorable and moving debut of one family's search for belonging. For fans of The Light Between Oceans and The Woolgrower's Companion. Every family has its secrets . . . 1932. Ernie and Lily Hass and their daughter, Girlie, have lost almost everything in the Depression; all they have keeping their small family together are their secrets. Abandoning their failing wheat farm and small-town gossip, they make a new start on the west coast of Australia, where they begin to build a summer guesthouse. But forming new alliances with the locals isn't easy. Into the Hasses' new life wanders Lily's shell-shocked brother, Tommy, after three harrowing years on the road following his incarceration. And Tommy is seeking answers that will cut to the heart of who Ernie, Lily and Girlie really are. The Secrets at Ocean's Edge is a heart-rending story of one broken family trying to find their way in life. Kali Napier breathes a fever-pitch intensity into her emotionally fragile characters, as their secrets are revealed with tragic consequences. If you loved The Light Between Oceans and The Woolgrower's Companion, you will love this story. 'One of the best books I've read this year. I absolutely loved it. Totally gripping, beautifully written, the characterisation is superb. An absolutely stunning book. I am still thinking about it' Melissa Ashley, author of The Birdman's Wife 'Kali Napier may be a debut author but she is certainly no novice. The Secrets at Ocean's Edge is an incredible novel' Theresa Smith 'An absorbing tale of family secrets, lies, betrayal and sacrifice. The story brims with authenticity [and] kept me guessing until the very end. I found it difficult to put down' Cass Moriarty, author of The Promise Seed

Author Biography

KALI NAPIER worked in Bangladesh as an anthropologist on gender programs before working as an Aboriginal family history researcher for the Queensland government and as a Native Title anthropologist in the mid-west of Western Australia, the setting for THE SECRETS AT OCEAN'S EDGE. The novel was longlisted for the Bath Novel Award as was her first manuscript - also a finalist in the Hachette Australia Manuscript Development Program. Kali is currently an MPhil candidate in creative writing at the University of Queensland. She now lives in Queensland with her two children.
Release date Australia
September 27th, 2018
Author
Pages
416
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Piatkus Books
ISBN-13
9780349421841
Product ID
28114648

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...