The Sun Came Out (2LP)



Customer rating

(0 ratings) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order.


2LP Vinyl release of the acclaimed Seven Worlds Collide album from last year.

The first 7 Worlds Collide album, a collection of amazing musical talents from across the globe in aid of Medicin Sans Frontiers, was a unique live performance experience, fusing the varied talents of a stellar cast across a range of cover versions to create a series of shows that culminated in the live album of the same name. Seven years after that project, instigator Neil Finn has upped the ante with the new 7 Worlds Collide project, ‘The Sun Came Out’, a double album of original songs created and recorded by many of the original cast alongside notable new additions in an intense three weeks here in New Zealand. This time the album will benefit Oxfam’s work to overcome poverty and injustice, as well as inspiring music lovers worldwide.

Familiar faces from the original album abound, Johnny Marr, Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway of Radiohead but this album, first and foremost presents the listener with new songs rather than interpretations of old favourites. ‘The Sun Came Out’ also features a whole host of new guest talents such as KT Tunstall and Wilco and heart stopping firsts, including Phil Selway's songwriting and vocal debut as well as dream collaborations such as those between Johnny Marr and Wilco's Jeff Tweedy; and KT Tunstall and Neil Finn .

At the heart of the record is Neil Finn. His enthusiasm and drive persuaded the likes of local legends Bic Runga, Don McGlashan, brother Tim and sons Liam and Elroy to join celebrated producer Jim Scott, Lisa Germano, Johnny Marr and Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, Pat Sansone, John Stirratt and Glenn Kotche, along with KT Tunstall (interrupting her honeymoon in the process) to spend their Christmas holiday in New Zealand.

The setting had its advantages though, as Neil notes, if the worst came to the worst the assembled cast could write it off as a holiday. Thankfully, the results mean that all those involved got both a holiday in one of the world’s most stunning landscapes and created some of the best music you will hear all year.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Too Blue (Johnny Marr/ Jeff Tweedy)
  2. You Never Know (Jeff Tweedy)
  3. Little By Little (Sharon Finn/ Neil Finn)
  4. Learn To Crawl (Ed O'Brien/Johnny Marr/ Liam Finn/ Neil Finn)
  5. Black Silk Ribbon (KT Tunstall/ Bic Runga)
  6. Girl, Make Your Own Mind Up (Don McGlashan)
  7. Run In The Dust (Johnny Marr)
  8. Red Wine Bottle (Liam Finn/ Chris Garland/ Johnny Marr)
  9. The Ties That Bind Us (Phil Selway)
  10. Reptile (Lisa Germano)
  11. Bodhisattva Blues (Ed O'Brien/ Liam Finn)
  12. What Could Have Been (Jeff Tweedy)
Side B:
  1. All Comedians Suffer (Neil Finn)
  2. Duxton Blues (Glenn Richards)
  3. Hazel Black (KT Tunstall/ Neil Finn)
  4. Riding The Wave (Tim Finn)
  5. The Witching Hour (Phil Selway)
  6. Over and Done (John Stirratt)
  7. Change Of Heart (Bic Runga/Dan Wilson)
  8. Don't Forget Me (Pat Sansone)
  9. Long Time Gone (Don McGlashan)
  10. The Cobbler (Elroy Finn)
  11. 3 Worlds Collide (Glenn Kotche/ Phil Selway/ Neil Baldock)
  12. The Water (Sebastian Steinberg)
Release date Australia
January 25th, 2010
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...