Compilation & Soundtrack Albums:

Unleashed (Sdtk)

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Unleashed (Sdtk)

Click to share your rating 1 rating (3.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


UNLEASHED was previously released under the title DANNY THE DOG on Virgin (74393).

Includes 2 bonus tracks.

Massive Attack: Lorna Marshall (vocals); Neil Davidge (guitar, keyboards); Mike Mooney, Angelo Bruschini (guitar); Stuart Gordon (violin); Louise Jeffrey (piano); John Baggott (keyboards); Sean Cook (bass guitar); Damon Reece, Johnny Mattock (drums); Alex Swift (programming).

Personnel: RZA, Thea.

Recording information: 2004.

Massive Attack's brooding, atmospheric trip-hop has always had a cinematic quality, so it is no surprise they were tapped by director Louis Leterrier to compose the score for his film UNLEASHED (formerly titled DANNY THE DOG). The soundtrack is strictly instrumental, and while longtime fans may miss the group's vocals, the variety and depth of the music more than compensates for this. Unlike the of-a-piece mood of albums like MEZZANINE, UNLEASHED is a varied stylistic collage that references techno, industrial, dub, ambient, and film music.

Cuts like the piano-and-strings duet on "You've Never Had a Dream" or the pulsing, eerie "Opening Title" are sweeping and evocative, perfectly suited to accompanying images on the big screen. The mood veers from delicate and melancholic (the music-box melody of "Two Rocks and a Cup of Water") to aggressive and mesmerizing ("The Dog Obeys," the skittery house rhythms in "Atta Boy"). The musical palette is so broad here, in fact, there is little that recalls the band's earliest work (except perhaps the deep, floating groove of "Polaroid Girl"). UNLEASHED may be Massive Attack's most ambitious and intriguing effort, in its dynamic range, coloring, and compelling blend of electronica and film music.

What the critics say...

Uncut (p.124) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Obsessives will find much meaning herein..."
CMJ (p.5) - "Massive Attack has developed a much darker, apocalyptic feel to its soundscapes, yet these icy tracks are more dramatic than they are downers."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.98) - 3 stars out of 5 - "DANNY THE DOG strays across a range of styles: minimal piano-and-drone sequences reminiscent of early '80s Eno, sentimental string sections, grungy acid break-beats and intense, claustrophobic interludes..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Opening Title
  2. Atta Boy
  3. P Is For Piano
  4. Simple Rules
  5. Polaroid Girl
  6. Sam
  7. One Through At A Time
  8. Confused Images
  9. Red Light Means Go
  10. Collar Stays On
  11. You've Never Had A Dream
  12. Right Away To Hold A Spoon
  13. Everybody's Got A Family
  14. Two Rocks And A Cup Of Water
  15. Sweet Is Good
  16. Montage
  17. Everything About You Is New
  18. Dog Obeys, The
  19. Danny The Dog
  20. I Am Home
  21. Academy, The
  22. Baby Boy - (previously unreleased)
  23. Unleash Me - (previously unreleased)
Release date Australia
March 29th, 2005
Virgin Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...