Biography & True Story Books:

Where Did You Sleep Last Night?

A Personal History

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Where Did You Sleep Last Night? by Danzy Senna
37% off
$26.99 was $42.99
or 4 payments of $6.75 with Learn more
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 2-3 weeks

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 14-18 January using Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas
  • Around 15-22 January using standard courier delivery
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas

Description

When Danzy Senna's parents married in 1968, they seemed poised to defy history: two beautiful young American writers from wildly divergent backgrounds--a white woman with a blue-blood Bostonian lineage and a black man, the son of a struggling single mother and an unknown father. When their marriage disintegrated eight years later, the violent, traumatic split felt all the more tragic for the hopeful symbolism it had once borne. Decades later, Senna looks back not only at her parents' divorce but at the histories that they had tried so hard to overcome. In the tradition of James McBride's The Color of Water, Where Did You Sleep Last Night? is "a stunningly rendered personal heritage that mirrors the complexities of race, class, and ethnicity in the United States" (Booklist).

Author Biography

Danzy Senna is the author of the novels Caucasia and Symptomatic.
Release date Australia
March 30th, 2010
Author
Pages
200
Illustrations
Illustrations, black and white
Imprint
St. Martins Press-3pl
Dimensions
140x213x15
ISBN-13
9780312429393
Product ID
3807003

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...