Rock Albums:

Mother's Milk [Explicit Lyrics] [Remaster]



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 3 ratings (3.7/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Mother's Milk [Explicit Lyrics] [Remaster] by Red Hot Chili Peppers

Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 9-16 March using standard courier delivery

Buy together and save

List price: $45.99

Buy together: $45.59 (save 1%)

36.36% of people buy Mother's Milk [Explicit Lyrics] [Remaster] and Blood Sugar Sex Magik ~ CD ~ Red Hot Chili Peppers.


MOTHER'S MILK is dedicated to the memory of the Chili Peppers' original guitarist Hillel Slovak, who died of a heroin overdose in 1988. Slovak (along with original drummer Jack Irons) appears for the last time here on the Jimi Hendrix cover "Fire."

Red Hot Chili Peppers: Anthony Kiedis (vocals); John Frusciante (guitar); Flea (trumpet, bass); Chad Smith (drums).

Additional personnel includes: Hillel Slovak (guitar); Jack Irons, Fish (drums); Julie Ritter, Gretchen Seager, Wag (background vocals).

Principally recorded at Ocean Way Studios and Image Studios, Hollywood, California. Includes liner notes by Flea.

All tracks have been digitally remastered using 24 Bit Technology.

1989's MOTHER'S MILK is the album that broke the Red Hot Chili Peppers out of college rock cultdom and into the rock mainstream. Despite suffering the loss of drummer Jack Irons and guitarist Hillel Slovak a year earlier (Irons left after Slovak suffered a fatal drug overdose), founding members Anthony Kiedis and Flea found exceptional replacements in Chad Smith and John Frusciante. The new members' excitement is clearly evident throughout MOTHER'S MILK, arguably the Chili Peppers' best album. A cover of Stevie Wonder's "Higher Ground" and a tribute to Slovak, "Knock Me Down," were both big MTV successes, as were such other highlights as "Taste the Pain" (featured prominently in the movie SAY ANYTHING), "Good Time Boys," "Subway to Venus," "Magic Johnson," and "Sexy Mexican Maid."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Good Time Boys
  2. Higher Ground
  3. Subway To Venus
  4. Magic Johnson
  5. Nobody Weird Like Me
  6. Knock Me Down
  7. Taste The Pain
  8. Stone Cold Bush
  9. Fire
  10. Pretty Little Ditty
  11. Punk Rock Classic
  12. Sexy Mexican Maid
  13. Johnny, Kick A Hole In The Sky
  14. Song That Made Us What We Are Today - (previously unreleased, demo)
  15. Knock Me Down - (previously unreleased, original long version)
  16. Sexy Mexican Maid - (previously unreleased, original long version)
  17. Salute To Kareem - (previously unreleased, demo)
  18. Castles Made Of Sand - (live, 11/21/89)
  19. Crosstown Traffic - (previously unreleased, live, 11/21/89)
Release date Australia
March 11th, 2003
EMI Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars Based on 3 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...