Compilation & Soundtrack Albums:

O Brother, Where Art Thou-

Click to share your rating 4 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



or own it now, pay later from $10 a week with Learn more

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Hurry! Only 1 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships tomorrow!


This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • 23-24 June using Express
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product within 1-2 business days (usually overnight) to urban centres across Australia, and some remote areas. Learn more
  • 25-28 June using standard parcel service

Buy together

4% of people buy O Brother, Where Art Thou- and Songs for Bubbas ~ CD ~ Anika Moa.

Buy together: $28.64


Includes a 24-page booklet with liner notes by Robert K. Oermann.

O BROTHER, WHERE ART THOU- won the 2002 Grammy Awards for Album Of The Year and for Best Compilation Soundtrack Album For A Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media. "O Death" won the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Male Country Vocal Performance. "I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" won the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Country Collaboration With Vocals.

Those kings of cinematic quirkiness, the Coen brothers, fashioned their film O BROTHER, WHERE ART THOU- as a contemporary adaption of Homer's Odyssey, centering around a group of American chain-gang prisoners. The film's earthy Southern setting makes it a natural for a bluegrass-oriented soundtrack, for which producer T-Bone Burnett picked the cream of the country crop.

"Didn't Leave Nobody But the Baby," for example, is a summit meeting of some of the finest contemporary female country vocalists (Gillian Welch, Emmylou Harris, and Alison Krauss). The old school isn't forgotten either, as evidenced by a chilling a cappella rendering of "O Death," courtesy of Ralph Stanley, and by the closing cut, where the Stanley Brothers issue an elegant plea to heaven with "Angel Band."

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (1/03/02, p.119) - Ranked #9 in Rolling Stone's "Top 10 2001".
Rolling Stone (1/18/01, pp.56-7) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...A collection of folk, bluegrass, gospel and hobo country so true to the music's down-home, egalitarian roots that it's hard to distinguish the old tracks from the new and the folk heroes from screen actors..."
Entertainment Weekly (10/12/01, p.38) - Ranked #56 in EW's "100 Best Movie Soundtracks" - "...An unlikely hillbilly smash making 1930s-style string-band music the 1st trend of the 21st-century..."
Q (12/00, p.139) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Mostly traditional spirituals and bluegrass numbers....richly evocative of its time and place, and educational too..."
No Depression (1-2/01, p.90) - "...The rarest of contemporary soundtracks: good (old) music, coherently programmed, and masterfully exceptional album..."
Mojo (Publisher) (6/02, p.68) - Included in Mojo's "100 Coolest Movie Soundtracks".
Mojo (Publisher) (1/02, p.70) - Ranked #3 in Mojo's "Best [10] Box Sets & Compilations of 2001".

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Down To The River To Pray - Alison Krauss
  2. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - The Soggy
  3. Bottom Boys / Dan Tyminski / Hard Time Killing Floor Blues - Chris Thomas King - (Radio Version)
  4. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - Norman Blake
  5. Keep On The Sunny Side - The Whites
  6. I'll Fly Away - Alison Krauss/Gillian Welch
  7. Didn't Leave Nobody But The Baby - Emmylou Harris/Alison Krauss/Gillian Welch
  8. In The Highways - Sara/Hanna & Leah Peasall
  9. I Am Weary (Let Me Rest) - The Cox Family
  10. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - John Hartford
  11. O Death - Ralph Stanley
  12. In The Jailhouse Now - The Soggy Bottom Boys/Tim Blake Nelson
  13. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - The Soggy Bottom Boys/Dan Tyminski (Band Version)
  14. Indian War Whoop - John Hartford
  15. Lonesome Valley - The Fairfield Four
  16. Stanley Brothers, The - Angel Band
Release date Australia
January 1st, 2007
Lost Highway Records
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 4 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...